Virtue of Death by Randi Perrin

Now, twelve years later, Sera’s a successful baker during the day and performs her angelic duties at night. The only thing missing in her life is a man, but the last thing she wants is to fall head over wings in love. It seems her relationships are unable to survive once she reveals her night time activities, so it’s easier to not even bother.

But when a tenacious food critic won’t take a hint, can Sera lower her wings long enough to risk her heart one more time?

Firstly the cover is stunning though it is not something that I would buy on a whim. I have never been a major fan of people on covers. I have just never had a good experience with books with those kinds of books. This one however was not something I had to worry about liking.

Perrin brings to life a wonderful story about loss; love and a touch of miracles. Definitely not what I expected in a contemporary romance story. I enjoyed how Sera Moore had to try and maintain a relationship all while playing the angel of death and claiming soul in her town. The thing I enjoyed most about this story was twofold. Firstly; I loved the fact that Sera was a baker and that Perrin so aptly described how she baked. The food in this book was enough to make me make a batch of brownies to eat while I read. Everything she wrote about was so well described that I could practically taste the Angel Wings melting in my mouth. The second was the diversity of the characters personalities. Certainly not your run of the mill characters but definitely believable ones. I loved the contrast between Sera and Cheryl as well as the contrast of their jobs. I would have expected them to have opposite positions based on their personalities but in a way I can see why Perrin did it that way – because it fits well into the story. I also love Destin because for me he was the character who went through the most development in the story.

The only thing that I didn’t like about the book is that the romance and feelings between Destin and Sera seemed to develop a little too fast to be believable however I have to admit that Perrin has got an excellent notion on what romantic is! This however is just my opinion because I generally don’t believe love blossoms that quickly. If you are a hopeless romantic however this story is definitely for you.

Overall it was a good book – especially since I struggled to put it down because I needed to know what was happening. I would gladly recommend this book to any lover of romance stories.

Review Rating: 3/5

More Information:

Published By: Hot Tree Publishing

Published Date: August 23, 2016

Genre:  Contemporary Romance

Author and purchase information available on Website Review.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

