The Butterfly Wind (Sisters of Light #2) By Sarah Key

Written by TBBManiacRobyn

The Sisters of Light are back and this time facing challenges far closer, and far more personal than those faced only three weeks ago. Flash’s brother Derrick has missed her performance at The Baxter Theatre prompting her father to enlist the help of Jordan in unearthing just what it is his son has gotten involved in.

Petra and Joanie’s childhood friend Liam has been shot by the Fierce One, Ikului a poacher protected by the muti and magic of Sianga the witch doctor of a local village. Liam is in a coma, but tracker and his good friend Mulenga is far less fortunate. Kept captive by Ikului Mulenga’s faith is going to be tested in ways he couldn’t possibly have foreseen.

My Thoughts

The Dandelion Clock was a fascinating read, and Sarah has managed to once again captivate and shock me.

What I Liked

  1. Despite the sheer number of characters involved in each story, Sarah has managed to weave each of them into a book which is not only a thrill to read, but that gets your thought juices flowing. She pursues subjects which are hugely prevalent on the African continent such as muti and gangsterism.

  2. One of the characters who I really enjoyed was Sianga. Despite being a witch doctor (also known as a traditional healer, or Sangoma) and the stigma that brings with her role, there is an element to her which left me feeling rather sad about the hand that life dealt her. Though a lot of her actions are questionable, and there’s an undeniable bitterness in her, I feel almost that she was more a product of the expectations of those who she worked both with and for, as well as the villagers with whom she lives. Her final interaction with nephew Bupe solidified my feeling that she wasn’t as evil as she’d set out to portray.

  3. Having gotten to know a bit about Honey, Petra, Flash and even Joanie in Book 1 there was a fair amount of information I felt was still needed about each of them. I enjoyed the more in-depth look at Joanie and Petra’s history as it certainly provided the insight I felt was lacking from Book 1. Honey and Flash aren’t as actively involved in The Butterfly Wind and it’s plot, I look forward to hearing a little more about them down the line though.

  4. The subject of muti is a rough one, anyone living on the African continent is aware of the atrocities that are committed in the name of muti, and while in the book there is a scene where this is made blatantly obvious, it wasn’t done in a manner that was overly shocking or gruesome. It was difficult for me to read – but this is also purely because I’m overly sensitised to the type of victim involved. I love how Sarah doesn’t hold back, she uses shock value but delivers it in a fantastic and well considered way.

  5. Having mentioned gangsterism earlier I must say that one thing I love about Sarah is how she utilises her books as a means of not only providing a brilliant work of fiction, but also to bring forward issues that are faced by the youth every day. The Cape Flats is an area in Cape Town with known gang problems, and through Derrick we are provided with an opportunity of following the mindset of innocence through to gangster. Though he seems to be saved from a cruel fate it’s left me feeling like the story of many who weren’t as ‘lucky’ has been given for those of us untouched by life’s unfair balance.

What I disliked

  1. The one thing that bothers me with the sisters, and it’s something I feel both works but also doesn’t work, for them is that results all seem almost too coincidental. I mean considering the valiant efforts given in resolving the cases at hand – for them to all end in the space of a few pages? I guess I felt the book was done a slight injustice there.

  2. I do also feel that there could have been a little more closure between Joanie and Liam, and for Bupe. Considering the background for each of them within The Butterfly Wind I felt as though I was left hanging by the end – though now I wonder, could this be potential material covered in Book 3? I look forward to finding out

  3. I am still battling with that feeling that the dialogue between characters could be a bit more… fluid? Realistic? Argh, I’m battling to fully identify how to explain it, but it feels forced and a bit too put on.

Conclusion

Sarah has provided a brilliant continuation of the Sisters of Light, building her characters in such a way that you aren’t left feeling overwhelmed by too much information or interaction, but also aren’t left feeling like there’s a lull in the story. She has a knack for brilliant storytelling and providing descriptions that are so beautifully worded it’d be understandable thinking this was poetry in paragraph form.  The Butterfly Wind is a story of determination, transformation and the will of the human spirit to survive.

Review Rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

More Information:

Published By: Rebel ePublishers

Publication Date: November 3rd 2016

Genre: Thriller / Fiction / Esoteric

Author and purchase information available on Website Review.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

