Cirque Act 1 by Ashleigh Giannoccaro

Reviewed by: TBBManiac Sian
This book is not suitable for a young audience.

Through the pane of pain, the master clown did blow
The circus is a holy tent, the keeper of my rhyme
Where I forged my chains, creating this pantomime
Pretending to be normal, I wait until after dark
Then I paint the frown on, get a whore from the park
At the bottom of that bed was a darling in a chest
She watched with big eyes, horror hooking her from rest
She dances for the maniac, twirling on her strings
I will make her mine, sharing damaged things
I will be her riddle, she will help me grin
So why does she run away, she has to let me in
No one loves the clown, not even the midget
We’ve gone too far, she will know my secret
Love can break the hardest mask, I know this to be true
Nightmares have hearts too, I only needed you

Ashleigh Giannoccaro brought to life a story that at first glance I would have normally tilted my head and wondered what was wrong with people in this world. To be perfectly frank – this is not a book I would pick up at all – I wouldn’t even give it a second glance. Now; I can’t get it out of my head. Giannoccaro is a talented writer who knows how to build suspense while keeping a story realistic. With a taste for the dark side; this story really shows something really deep – we all have secrets and keeping secrets keeps us away from the people we love. Giannoccaro’s characters are enticingly twisty and she certainly knows how to show both the light and dark side of people through her writing.

The thing that I most enjoyed about this book is the bliss naivety of the characters in regards to each other and how closely their secrets are intertwined. The story left me wanting more for the characters and wanting more of the story for myself. Giannoccaro constructed a great story that flows extremely well without relying too much on the physical aspect of basic human pleasure to carry her story.

I also enjoyed the unpredictability and honesty of the characters in terms of how they knew their secrets were not acceptable and that they had to wear this “mask” for normal society. I feel like that is people in general and it certainly made me think of the things that I keep to myself that prevents me from truly engaging people. The story was exciting; sexy; enlightening and certainly not a “usual” read. I thoroughly recommend it to all mature audiences who want something both erotic and thought provoking.

Giannoccaro has created a world where we are able to relate to characters on a very personal level – for me it is the fact that people who have secrets are unable to form relationships because they feel their secrets will drive the people away. Knowing this; we will still TRY to form relationships and we still TRY to indulge our secrets without those people knowing.

The characters are so amazingly enticing and yet; while others might would say that a story like this will solely rely on how scintillating the erotic scenes are described; I found that it was the story that drew me in. Giannoccaro has an excellent plot in Cirque Act 1 that develops well and really draws the reader in. Having read this book I know want to marry a clown and cannot wait to read the sequel. I recommend this to anyone afraid of clowns; interested in a good dark and twisty story and anyone who just enjoys reading.

Review Rating: 5/5

More Information:

Published by: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 2 edition (September 13, 2016)

Published Date: September 13; 2015

Genre:  Action / Supernatural

                        

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

