Northwoods Wolfman by Scott Burtness

Reviewed by: TBB Maniac Sian

When Dallas, the self-proclaimed Hero of Trappersville, is recruited by an ancient order of monster hunters, he’s more than happy to sign up. The group’s leader, Colton, is solid as an oak. Randall ain’t half bad, despite his tendency to whine. The whip-smart, beautiful, and totally badass Aletia is whip-smart, beautiful, and totally badass. Under their guidance, Dallas learns everything there is to know about hunting monsters (or close enough) and pledges to keep his friends safe.
Now there’s a werewolf in town, and Dallas and Stanley are on the case. As far as Dallas is concerned, monsters are monsters, and they have no place in Wisconsin.

Or do they? When an unexpected discovery and an unlikely reunion turn his world upside down, Dallas realizes he may not get to choose which side he’s on.

Booze, bar fights, boo hags, beer cans, Bigfoot, brujas, and a full moon. Who knew that hunting monsters would make life so exciting?

Book Two of the Monsters in the Midwest Series

Scott Burtness has done it again! Words cannot express how awesome his first book is and after taking a few weeks to recover from the slap of awesome that was Wisconsin Vamp (Book One of the Monsters in the Midwest Series) I finally dived into Northwoods Wolfman and you know what – I was not disappointed. In fact; if possible; this book is even better than the first! Maybe it’s because I get to continue to live out my adventures in the sleepy town of Trappersville; maybe it’s because I missed the bowling alley and Stanley’s ramblings about Murder; she wrote… All I know is that it felt good to be back in town with even greater adventures. Burtness is an excellent writer who knows how to build up a story and how to make a reader feel like they are a part of a world rather than reading about it.

The thing I love most about Burtness’ writing is it’s not really simple but it’s certainly not verbose. It’s a medium; a normal kind of ‘hey buddy have I got a story for you‘ type of narrative. I can imagine sitting around a fire; drinking some beers and Burtness telling me this story. This makes it pleasant for many reasons but my main ones were: (1) it makes the story sound kind of plausible; (2) the story doesn’t drag out and you wish to GOD that over descriptive writers would just get to the point and (3) it fit our (not so) average characters rather well. Another thing that I enjoy about Burtness’ writing is that his characters are real! I mean I have a Dallas in my neighbourhood – hell I have a Stanley and Herb as well – so for me when I read these books I feel like I can relate (Herb man… you and I are kindred spirits!). Burtness also introduces some more background for our town and even more interesting characters while our usual trio of trouble progress themselves at a believable pace! There is nothing I don’t love about Trappersville; Herb; Stanley; Louis or Dallas – okay maybe there is something I DON’T love about Dallas but that would be spoiling the first book!

If you are looking for a funny; tongue-in-cheek kind of book that will have you giggling; cheering and wanting to drink beer and bowl then I recommend you look no further. Start with Wisconsin Vamp (You can thank me later) and once you recover from that slap of awesome at the end plough into Northwoods Wolfman.

Review Rating: 5/5

More Information:

Published by: Scott Burtness; 1 edition (June 24, 2015)

Published Date: June 24, 2015

Genre:  Action / Supernatural

 Links:

                           

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

